Skip to content
Who We Are

About Us

Our Philosophy.

At Wild Wapiti Playschool, we nurture our kids' curious minds and kind hearts through child-led play-based learning, positive reinforcement and role-modelling.

We celebrate each other's uniqueness and support each child to grow, learn and discover in their own style. 

Wild Wapiti Playschool is a safe and stimulating environment that provides opportunities to promote each child’s independence, and sense of worth and belonging to both our group and the local community. 

We ground our learning by exploring our local and natural environments, and where possible encourage nature-based outside play and experiences with natural materials. 

We believe each child is uniquely valuable and must be treated with respect and dignity by other children, and by all adults within our community. 

We value our educators by  providing livable wages and  continuous learning opportunities and professional development. We know that the knowledgeable, engaged and empowered staff will make meaningful and lasting impressions on each child.

Our mission is to enhance Fernie's childcare capacity, providing a safe and stimulating environment for children and enabling families to contribute effectively to our community.

How it started.

The idea for Wild Wapiti Playschool was sparked from a conversation between three friends and local Fernie Moms - Laura, Allie and Dee, when we got the news their beloved dayhome was due to close. 

Wild Wapiti Playschool Society became official in January 2023 and over the next few months our board expanded. We are so grateful to all those who have contributed in so many different ways to bring Wild Wapiti Playschool to life, and create these critically needed child care spaces in Fernie.

Board of Directors

Allie Ferguson - Chair
Dee Marcotte - Secretary
Mike Pope - Treasurer
Celine Hawkins Buttazzoni - Director
Marcelle Poulain - Director                                                                                                                                                                           
Nicki McClung - Director                                                                                                                                                                              Claire Rogers - Director                                                                                                                                                                          Brooklyn Hanson - Director